• RSS

The Coyotes are asking fans to select the recipient of the team’s hardest working player award for the 2012-13 season.

The award, given each year since 1996-97, was renamed the Jukka Nieminen Memorial Trophy in memory of Jukka Nieminen, the team’s long-time massage therapist who passed away in June of 2010. Nieminen was well loved and respected within the organization and around the NHL, and the Coyotes are excited to keep his memory alive via this annual award.

This season’s Nieminen Trophy will be presented to the top vote getter on Fan Appreciation Night on April 26, before the game vs. the Colorado Avalanche.

Fans are asked to vote for one of the following players:

Mikkel Boedker

Shane Doan

Oliver Ekman-Larsson

Boyd Gordon

Lauri Korpikoski

Zbynek Michalek


Antoine Vermette


Note: Nieminen is survived by two young daughters – Alexandra and Caroline. A fund has been established to help provide for their future education:

Jukka Nieminen Memorial Fund
c/o Stan Wilson
Phoenix Coyotes Hockey Club
6751 N. Sunset Blvd., Suite 200
Glendale, AZ 85305